RSS

Chili’s Copycat Salsa

07 Apr

I have a food problem.  It’s more of an addiction.  I am addicted to chips and salsa.  Throw in queso and I really cannot control myself at all.  Some of my favorite memories from college and then life post-college in New Orleans involve me and my favorite girlfriends getting together and eating chips and salsa.  When the hubs and I first started dating, one of our initial connections (in all seriousness) was over our mutual love for chips and salsa.

And, yet, I’ve never once made homemade salsa.

I realized recently that had to change.  Instead of buying salsa at the store or sending the hubs out to pick up chips and salsa from Chili’s (confession—guilty pleasure), I knew it was time to make salsa at home.

I found a recipe online for a copycat version of Chili’s salsa.  This version is spicier than Chili’s but the same consistency.  It turned out really good and very easy to put together.  Hopefully I can make fresh salsa this summer with tomatoes from my own garden, but for now, canned tomatoes work just fine.

Salsa

  • 1 (14 1/2) ounce can tomatoes and green chilies
  • 1 (14 1/2) ounce can whole canned tomatoes (with the juice)
  • 4 teaspoons canned diced jalapenos 
  • ¼ cup diced yellow onion
  • ½ teaspoon garlic salt
  • ½ teaspoon cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon sugar
  • 1 garlic clove (minced)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • ¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro

Place the jalapenos and the onion into a food processor. Pulse for just a few seconds. Add the canned tomatoes and green chilies and the whole canned tomatoes. Add garlic salt, sugar, cumin, minced fresh garlic, lime juice, and cilantro. Process all of the ingredients until well blended but do not puree.

Pour salsa into a container, cover and place into the refrigerator. Chill for at least 2 hours before serving.

Source: BlogChef.net

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 7, 2013 in Appetizer

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
