RSS

Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms

29 May

I don’t know about y’all, but I was in desperate need of this long weekend.  It’s finally beginning to feel like summer in Colorado, which means open windows, dinners outside on the patio, and my favorite Colorado pastime, hiking.  Thankfully it’s been nice outside this weekend and we’ve spent some time outside.  I could have very easily fallen victim to the Law & Order: SVU marathon or the Extreme Couponing marathon – okay, I confess, the Extreme Couponing marathon is on in the background as I type this.  I’m all for saving money, but I think I draw the line at dumpster diving!

Last night, in a quest to expand our vegetarian horizons, we decided to make stuffed portabella mushrooms for dinner (no coupons were used for this meal – I apologize to any extreme couponers out there).  Any recipe that includes mushrooms and is topped with cheese is a winner in my book.  The meal turned out great.  Next up, I think I’m ready to try portabella burgers!

Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms

Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms

2 large Portabella mushrooms or 4 medium mushrooms
Balsamic vinegar
1 teaspoon olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 of an onion, chopped
1 yellow pepper, chopped
2 Roma tomatoes, chopped
2 cups of fresh spinach
1/4 cup breadcrumbs
Italian seasoning
Mozzarella cheese

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Scoop out gills and remove stems from mushrooms.  Brush mushrooms with balsamic vinegar and place on baking sheet.  Set aside.

Heat olive oil in sauté pan over medium heat.  Add garlic, onions, and peppers.  Cook until tender.  Add in tomatoes and spinach, cooking until spinach is wilted.  Divide the filling between mushrooms.

Sprinkle breadcrumbs and Italian seasoning on top of mixture.  Top mushrooms with cheese.  Bake for ten minutes or until cheese is melted.

Source: Two Peas and Their Pod

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 29, 2011 in Main Dish

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
