RSS

Chicken Marsala

16 May

When I was in high school and throughout college, I worked as a waitress.  I loved waiting tables – the interaction with the customers, learning about the food and wines, but I’m not going to lie, my favorite part was 50% off meals when I was working.

My waitressing career started at an Italian restaurant in a suburb of Houston and it was at that restaurant where I discovered my love for chicken marsala.  After my shifts, I was always starving and I would usually have someone in the kitchen make me chicken marsala for dinner.  It’s definitely now one of my “comfort foods.”  I love the sweetness of the Marsala wine and enjoyed the addition of the mustard and Mascarpone cheese to the sauce in this recipe.

Chicken Marsala

1 1/2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts, scallopini pieces (thin sliced)
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons butter
3/4 cup chopped onion
1 pound cremini mushrooms, sliced
2 tablespoons minced garlic
1 cup dry Marsala wine
8 ounces mascarpone cheese
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian parsley leaves
12 ounces dried fettuccine

Cook pasta by bringing a large pot of water to a boil.  Add fettuccine, cooking until al dente, about 8 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Drain and set aside.

While pasta is cooking, season the chicken with salt and pepper.  Heat olive oil in large skillet over high heat.  Add chicken, cooking until just brown, about 3 minutes per side.  Transfer chicken to a plate.

Melt butter in the same skillet that chicken cooked in over medium-high heat.  Add onion and sauté for about 2 minutes, until the onion is tender.

Add the mushrooms and garlic to the skillet.  Sauté for about 10-14 minutes, until the mushrooms are tender.  Add wine and reduce by half – about 4 minutes.

Stir in the mustard and mascarpone and return the chicken to the pan.  Simmer over medium-low heat until the chicken is cooked through.  The sauce should thicken slightly.

Serve chicken mixture over the fettuccine and top with chopped parsley

Source: Elizabeth’s Edible Experience, originally from Giada De Laurentiis

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 16, 2011 in Main Dish

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Chicken Marsala

  1. shannon

    May 17, 2011 at 7:39 am

    I was just thinking, “When is she going to post a new recipe … I need something new to make!” So, thank you! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
