RSS

Twenty Minute Black Bean Soup

12 Mar

There was a time in my life when I hated beans.  I would not eat them – not in red beans and rice, not on a burrito, not in a soup, nada.  Somewhere along the way, I think after college, I actually tried black beans when I was at a Mexican restaurant for dinner.  And, lo and behold, I liked them.  Then, I tried refried beans.  Liked them, too.  Chickpeas?  Delicious.  Trying to make up for the first twenty-one or so years of my life without beans, I now eat them pretty often – this also might have to do with my serious love for Mexican food and the ridiculous amount of times we eat Mexican food in a month.  But, that is neither here nor there.  I digress.

On a recent busy weeknight, and no time for a trip to the grocery store, and with beans in the pantry, Twenty Minute Black Bean Soup was on tap for dinner.

The meal was quick (as you might have guessed from the name), easy, healthy, and made with ingredients we typically have on hand.  Ding, ding, ding – we have a winner.

Twenty Minute Black Bean Soup

Twenty Minute Black Bean Soup

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
2 15.5-oz cans black beans, drained & rinsed
15 oz can diced tomatoes in juice
1 1/2 c vegetable broth
1 teaspoon salt
1 handful chopped, cilantro
1/4 cup feta cheese
10 chives, chopped

In a large pan, heat olive oil over medium. Add onion and garlic, and cook 6-8 minutes, until beginning to brown. Stir in cumin and chili powder. Add black beans, diced tomatoes, vegetable broth, salt, and cilantro. Bring to a boil, and allow to cook for 2 minutes. Transfer 1 cup to a blender, and process until smooth. Stir back into soup. Remove from heat, and serve topped with feta and chives.

If you enjoy cilantro as much as I do, throw a little more on top as a garnish.

Source: fresh365

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 12, 2011 in Soup

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Twenty Minute Black Bean Soup

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide

    March 12, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    I’d never considered feta with black bean soup, but it sounds fresh and fun.

     

Leave a Reply

 
